Announcing the 2016 APEX Awards Recipients

Apex awards

Congratulations to the 2016 recipients of the WSBA APEX Awards (formerly the WSBA Annual Awards)! The awards will be presented on Sept. 29 at the Seattle Sheraton. Learn more about this year’s recipients and register now to attend the awards dinner.

Award of Merit

    Matthew H. Adams – Northwest Immigrant Rights Project, Seattle

Courageous Award

    Leo Hamaji, William Prestia, Kathryn Ross – Public Defender Association
    Todd Gruenhagen, Carl Luer, Stacey MacDonald – Associated Counsel for the Accused
    Colleen O’Connor, David Sorenson – Society of Counsel Representing Accused Persons

Excellence in Diversity Award

    Chalia Stallings-Ala’ilima – Office of the Attorney General of Washington State, Seattle

Norm Maleng Leadership Award — presented jointly with the Access to Justice Board

    Michelle Storms – University of Washington School of Law, Seattle

Outstanding Judge Award

    Hon. Kathleen M. O’Connor (ret.), Spokane

Outstanding Young Lawyer

    Veronica Quinonez – Veronica Quinonez Law, Tukwila

Pro Bono Awards

    Perkins Coie & Microsoft, Seattle & Redmond
    David A. Batement – K&L Gates LLP, Seattle

Professionalism Award

    Anthony R. Hinson, Poulsbo

Public Service Award

    Adam Cornell – Snohomish County Prosecutors Office, Everett

Sally Savage Award

    Gonzaga University School of Law
    Seattle University School of Law
    University of Washington School of Law